Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Photo: Separate? by Johnny Swanson

************************

“So, we went to the fairy counsel with all of our kingdom’s riches and begged for our brother’s life. Finally, our patron, the owl fairy, asked for a compromise. The tree fairy suggested someone take our brother’s place. My sisters and I agreed, but the dragon fairy demanded punishment to our brother for shedding innocent blood.”

“How can a dragon be innocent? Aren’t they evil?”

“Beyond good and bad there is a field, Claire. We will meet you there.”

*******************

my finger nails entrap blood,

forming brown crust crescent,

smelling of burnt copper.

an extraction both necessary and futile

as hopeless as murder.

************************

Dear Best Friend,

Today, I saw a giant as he ducked his head into a bar’s door way. Is he under a curse, or is it really just a pituitary sneeze?

I wonder if he gets tired of reaching up then down for everyone?

I wonder how life treated him?

I wonder if the universe reaches up and out to greet him?

I am too shy to ask.

***************

Dear Claire,

I think I am in love with you…

